CLICK HERE FOR FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES, LINK BUTTONS AND MORE! »

Monday, July 23, 2012

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

I just finished reading The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Right now, I still riding the way of excitement from the book. The ending, just got my heart pumping. I jumped out of my bed and ran to my computer, to see if book #2 was out. Sadly, it doesn't come out until October 23, 2012. I must wait patiently, or just awkwardly twitch and go insane waiting. Either or.

I am out of practice when it comes to book reviewing, I don't really remember my style or what I really did, so ignore the sloppiness of this entry.

Book: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer
Author: Michelle Hodkin
Series: Mara Dyer
# in Series: 1

5/5 Stars

Please excuse all the crazy hype I will be typing.

First, I start with the cover. I think the cover is stunning, though I didn't really pay much attention to it. I gave it a simple glimpse and found it beautiful and dark. In my room the lightning isn't all that great, so at first I didn't notice that they are underwater, but the biggest thing is, I didn't notice Noah. I don't know how I missed that but I did. I only realized it when I was taking a breather from reading, and was staring at the cover and was thought "Someone is holding her."

In the picture to the left you can clearly see more details, but when the book from the library, I can't see anything in the water. The cover is wrapped in plastic to protect it but the plastic has a lot of scratches on it, so I can't see stuff in the water. There is a word for that right? Laminated? No?

**********************************************************************************


"I backed away from the closet and peered into the bathroom. The faucet was off. A single drop of water fell, sounding like a bomb in the stillness. The bathroom had overflowed, making the ceramic tile reflect the light like glass.

I didn't remember turning the water off.

But I must have.

But there was still no way I was getting in."
Page147-148

"Everything was fine. I plunged my arm in.

For a second, I could not think. It was as if all the feeling beneath my elbow had been cut off. Like the rest of my arm never even existed.

Then the scalding pain clawed at my skin, my bones, inside out, outside in. A soundless scream misshaped my mouth and I struggled to pull my arm out but it wouldn't move. I couldn't move. I crumpled against the side of the bathtub. My mother found me there an hour later."
Page 148-149

**********************************************************************************

So the book starts with, I guess a diary entry? She says her name is not Mara Dyer, that her lawyer had to told her to pick a name. A "nom de plume", in all honestly, I could not read the word pseudonym, because it was in cursive. Sure my brain recognized it but I wasn't 100% sure if that was the right word I was seeing, so I just ended up googling "nom de plume" and came up with that, a pen name. Why she had to choose one, well I guess we find out in the next book, because we don't find out in The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Mara wakes up in the hospital and instantly loses it. She sees all these tubes attached to her and starts ripping them out, and ends up right hooking one of the nurses. Mara is confused to why she is in the hospital and asks her family what happened to her? They tell her an accident happened, and she sums it up to be a car accident. Instead she discovers that the abandon building collapsed, killing her best friend, another friend and her boyfriend. In all that, she came out of it unharmed except with some bruises and unconscious for a few days.

*Getting annoyed. My brain can't put together sentences I want.*

From the accident, Mara can't seem to remember anything. Why was she at the abandon building? What happened? Let alone what day it was, still thinking it was Wednesday, when instead it was Sunday. Mara's family ends up moving to Florida to escape the accident, hoping it will do some good for Mara's mental state. She was diagnosed with PTSD. She hallucinates. She does things, she can't explain; leaving her mother to hover over her until she feels suffocated. She pretends to be fine when in reality everything is becoming a lot worse. To make matters worse she has to start at a new school and ends up face planting, giving her a nosebleed in front of the entire classroom, all due to the fact she was hallucinating. A great way to start at a new school. 

Mara meets Noah and her world begins to change. She gets pulled deeper into the darkness of her nightmares and hallucinations. Never knowing what was real or fake, not being able to ask the people around her if something really happened or happening due to the fear of being sent to a psych ward. 

She goes on a quest to try to remember what happened that night at the asylum. To find out what is happening to her.

********************************************************************************** 

The number one thing that bothered me about the book was not knowing what was wrong with her. Or what she is. Or could be. Or if she is anything at all. I NEED to know. And for the ending of the book to just get so so so exciting? Thrilling? Heart pounding? I can't think of a word to describe how the ending felt, though I guess heart pounding will just have to do because my heart was racing with excitement, see those two words, but they aren't the words I'm looking for, but they will have to do.

I saw on goodreads, someone put the book under some kind of tag like "readers who enjoyed Hush, Hush" so I was thinking angels of sort? Crap, I can't even remember that book really, so fallen angels / angels, but I don't know. 

I just know I want book #2. 

********************************************************************************** 

Whenever I book blog again, I'll try to find my brain, because it seriously wasn't here at all when I was typing all this. I'm just to excited, but I need to write when everything is so fresh and excitement pumping through my veins. 

Plus the whole time, I'm rocking my head to k-pop (korean music), T-ara - Lovey Dovey, freaking addicting as hell. 

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

I've started to read again.

I've started to read again.

I've only read 2 books this year so far. My goal right now is 50, but I'd be lucky to even get myself to read 25 books but I feel really excited to start reading again. I made a small book club with a few online friends, and its beginning to make me want to read and read some more. I've marked a lot of new books to read and requested a few from the library already!!

Right now, I'm reading Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead. I've should have read this book years ago! I could barely even remember what the last book was about, but I finally got myself to pick it up. I'm trying not to force myself into finish the book in a short amount of time. I read when I feel like reading, instead of forcing myself to read, like I did a lot last year. That way, I don't kill my love for reading anymore than I already have

Once I get back into my reading groove then I'll start blogging again!!!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...